Knowing The Three Categories Of Water Damage Restoration

Knowing The Three Categories Of Water Damage Restoration

water damage restoration mission viejo, water damage mission viejo, water damage repair mission viejoWhen water damage happens in your Mission Viejo home, it can come from a number of different causes. Depending on the source of the water, there can be different levels of contamination in your home. Water is considered contaminated if it contains any level of pollution that renders it unsafe for basic use. So when water damage strikes, not only do you have to deal with the stress of water damage, but you may also have to deal with the health threats associated with contaminated water. There are 3 categories of water contamination, and our team of water damage restoration experts is going to break each one down for you.

Water Damage Restoration In Mission Viejo

Category One:

When water comes from a clean source such as a sink faucet, water heater, pipes, or toilet tanks, it is classified as category one water. Also referred to as ‘clean water,’ category one water does not carry any harmful contaminants. Even though it is generally harmless to your health, category one water can wreak havoc on your home – especially when it goes unresolved for extended amounts of time. A quick response to water damage, no matter what category it is, is important to reduce damages done. In as little as 24 hours following water damage, mold can begin to grow, and if water is allowed to sit for 48 hours or longer, it will begin to degrade to category 2 water.

Category Two:

Category two water comes from a source that contains a significant degree of biological and chemical contaminants. This type of water can be harmful to the health of anyone who comes in contact with it, especially if it is ingested. Category two water is often termed ‘gray water’ because of the level of harmful microorganisms it carries. Sources of gray water can include toilet bowels not containing feces, seepage from hydrostatic failure, and leaks from washing machines, showers, and dishwashers. To properly restore your home following water damage from category two water, specific decontamination techniques and sanitizing are required. It is vital to your health, and the health of others in the home, to avoid all contact with category 2 water.

Category Three:

This category of water is by far the most harmful and dangerous. Category three water is called ‘black water’ because it is grossly contaminated with toxic pathogenic substances and harbors bacteria, chemicals, disease-causing organisms, and ground materials. Category three water comes from any sewage leak or line, toilet water containing feces, sea water, river water, and any other external source of flood water. Category three water is extremely dangerous and harmful to any who may come in contact with it, and should be avoided at all costs. Safe restoration of water damage from category 3 water requires the use of personal protective equipment along with specialized water extraction, drying, dehumidification, and sanitation. 

At Flood Pro our water damage restoration experts, we understand how stressful water damage is, and the possible risks different categories of water hold. Before any attempt at water damage can begin, it is so important to identify the type of water you are dealing with so that adequate safety measures can be taken. Do not put you or your family at risk following water damage, and leave the restoration to us. We are equipped to properly restore your home following water damage no matter the source or category. Stay safe, and leave all your water damage restoration needs to Flood Pro. 

Call to Schedule Service!

Call Today (949) 229-6990